Luck of the Buttons

Recommended Reading : Curse of the Buttons

One of the great perks of being a writer is that I get to read the manuscripts of books before they are even published, like CURSE OF THE BUTTONS (Fall '14, Candlewick), a middle grade novel by my friend Anne Ylvisaker. This is third book in the Button family saga which began with  LUCK OF THE BUTTONS and continued on with BUTTON DOWN. Each book in this three book series works its way backward through the Button family's history, helping us understand their present woes and joys as well as their past.  

It's hard to be patient and wait for the next opportunity to luxuriate in the skilled language of Anne Ylvisaker's historical family stories. But by waiting , you will be rewarded. In the meantime, you can grab a copy of LUCK OF THE BUTTONS and BUTTON DOWN. If you get yourself a new, just released, paperback of BUTTON DOWN, you'll find a short excerpt from CURSE OF THE BUTTONS at the back of the book.

Other posts about Anne Ylvisaker's Books :




Fall Excitement


The Hawkeye Healing Shawl , my new essay for Lion Brand, marks a beginning. Now I understand a little more about the black and gold, the Hawkeye team colors. Last week, I discussed this with my neighbor and friend Ed ( Ed’s Hat). He told me how he became a Hawkeye fan. And then, he invited me to be his guest at a game in the fall. I'm looking forward to that. I hope I can bring my knitting.

I am also waiting with eagerness and excitement for this fall to read my pal, Anne Ylvisaker’s newest book, Button Down. The second of three books about Iowa's Button family.  Button Down, will be out just in time for football fever. Button Down follows Ned Button, a character inspired by Grant Wood's Plaid Sweater (above), in his quest to see the 1929 Hawkeyes play the opening game in their new football stadium.

Stay tuned. There will be more about news about Button Down. And even a contest.  You’ll have a chance to win a autographed copy. In the meantime, check out the book that started the Button series, Luck of The Buttons.

Happy reading.